Sewing

Crop Top and High-Waisted Sommer

IMG_0673I love my newest Deer and Doe Chardon. I used a canvas from Sarah Jane’s Sommer collection for Michael Miller for the skirt, and I love it! It’s softer than most canvas fabrics I’ve sewn with, so it has a bit more drape as well. I have an older version of the pattern, but not much has changed from what I understand. I made Version B, but omitted the band at the bottom and created a facing instead. My favorite detail about this pattern? It has pockets!IMG_0862As usual I sewed French seams for the sides and pocket to enclose my seams and give it a nice finish. I machine stitched a blind hem with the facing, and I made bias tape for the waistband and zipper for a clean finishing. I considered using my serger since the cut edges of the canvas began unraveling with the slightest touch, but I am so glad I didn’t!
IMG_0682
My top is the Megan Nielsen Briar, which comes in a couple of lengths. I thought the crop version would be fun paired with my new Chardon skirt and a couple of other high-waist items in my closet. This was my first Megan Nielsen pattern, and I was impressed with her instructions and illustrations. It was a fairly quick and easy sew, and I think a perfect beginner project for anyone new to sewing with knits. I sized up to a size Small, since I was on the borderline of the X-Small and my knit had a little less stretch than recommended. I may go with a small on the next one and see if it’s a slightly better fit through the shoulders and armscyce.
IMG_0659IMG_0667
Is there a pattern company you haven’t tried, but have been curious about? Any “must-have” patterns you recommend? what is your “go-to” pattern?

Leave a Reply

