Sewing

Heathered Rivage Raglan

Since I was diagnosed with a rare autoimmune disorder a few years ago, my wardrobe has shifted to a more relaxed style. I’ve had to undergo infusions, chemo, and various other treatments over the last year, and I have begun to focus on clothes that are comfortable and can accommodate some weight fluctuation. I also want a wardrobe that can transition from doctor appointments to play dates to lounging around the house and doesn’t include yoga pants and plain tees.

When I stumbled onto this heathered cotton lycra knit in my stash, I knew I wanted to make a Rivage Raglan. I’ve already made a couple, but they’re made with a thicker ponte knit, so I rarely wear them.heathered-rivage-raglan-necklineI made this one in the size small with elbow length sleeves, and it is now one of my favorites. I have some yardage of this same knit in Oatmeal, and I may make another. I love the high-low hemline paired with my skinny jeans and leggings. I also like that the sleeves aren’t cut on the fold. heather-rivage-backtwoAfter wearing it for about an hour, I decided I didn’t like the sleeve length, so  I added  2 ½”cuffs to make them ¾ sleeves. If you’re average height or tall, you will most likely need to add more length.
heathered-rivage-raglan
If you’re in the market for a relaxed fit raglan, I highly recommend this one.

Leave a Reply

