Lo’s Piper

I can’t believe we’re at the end of May! Have you had one of those months in which you feel as though you’re being pulled in too many directions? With Me Made May ’14, Indie Sewing Month and Lo’s upcoming birthday and baptism, it’s been a bit hectic around here. Then, I lost all of our cameras, so I wasn’t chronicling anything I have done the past couple of weeks.  I blame it on my insomnia for the past month. Oh, well; that’s life!

As I mentioned before, I am busy preparing for Lo’s birthday and baptism, and I wanted to make her Violette Field Threads’ Piper dress for her baptism. I fell in love with that big bow in the back, and the A-line silhouette is just so cute with the peter pan collar! Seriously, ,how cute are these girls?! So, I excitedly purchased the pdf and was ready to get started. I decided to make a dress out of whatever remnants I had before I cut into the gorgeous silk I intend to use for the special occasion.

piper9_1024x1024

Once I pieced all the pages together from the pdf, I realized I didn’t care much for the pattern’s construction. The instructions aren’t always clear, and the bow isn’t lined. She mentions that you can line it, but never tells you how to line it. I wasn’t sure if I needed to add extra seam allowances, or how to minimize the bulkiness from the lining, but it was better than exposed selvedged edges, in my opinion. Since this is for a toddler, I know it’ll be worn roughly with all the playing and exploring, and I want the bow to look nice from all angles and give her comfortable arm movement.

I sewed them in the round hoping the outcome would look okay, but unfortunately, the sleeves aren’t designed well enough to sew them that way. I am not a fan of patterns that tell you to add the sleeves flat (before sewing the sides together) because it’s uncomfortable, looks awkward when worn and restricts arm movement.  I plan on making a muslin in order to draft a nice fitting set of sleeves keeping this in mind.

I made the bias tape according to the instructions, but it is entirely too wide for the smaller sizes. I honestly did not want to make more bias tape, so I did my best to keep it ¼ inch on the outside and sew the excess securely on the inside. Lastly, I also omitted the elastic on the edge of the sleeve as well.

With all that being said, it’s a fairly easy pattern if you have sewn garments for yourself or a child. If you don’t care about selvedged edges, sewing flat sleeves or visible wrong sides of fabric, then you’ll love this pattern. I’ve seen some of the tester’s creations, and they turned out fine by following the instructions given. Overall, it took me about four hours from cutting to finishing the hems despite the adjustments I made.  Also, it has options for a ¾ length sleeve and long sleeve.  Once I have my muslin the way I want, I’m looking forward to making more of these for Lo in the future. I love this fabric, so she’ll still be wearing this version this summer.

SAM_6998 SAM_7000

Have you ever been disappointed by a pattern? Do you prefer sewing in the round or flat? What’s the reason for your preference?

Linked up at Sewing Saturday, Catch As Catch Can, Party Bunch Linky, Linky Party Palooza, Show Off Saturday, Nifty Thrifty Sunday, Made By You Monday, One Project at a Time, From Dream to Reality, Artsy Corner. Catch A Glimpse, and You Made It and I Love It.

3 thoughts on “Lo’s Piper

Leave a Reply

